15 1/2 minutes

I spent 15.5 minutes of my cool & breezy Saturday lying on the ground at Public Square. 11 minutes symbolizing the number of times Eric Garner stated “I can’t breathe” and 4.5 minutes symbolizing the hours Mike Brown’s lifeless body remained on the street.  I spent most of the time in prayer. I prayed for the families of victims of police brutality. I prayed for understanding and empathy for myself and my peers. While I agree people should’ve made better choices to avoid adverse situations with the police, I believe there is a disparate impact on minorities as whole when it comes to interactions with law enforcement and legal processes.

imagesD8MEQG0LI don’t know how to change it, but I felt being part of a peaceful protest was a step in the right direction. If for nothing else, we visually express our feelings of discontent.

Thanks for listening.

About icanonlybeT

To whom much is given, much is expected. Right now I am trying figure out my greatness. I'm done with school but I am considering going back. I just know where I am is not means to an end for me. I still keep myself busy with the different ventures that I take on. Enough about that.... My family and friends mean the world to me. I would do anything for them. i am sarcastic to a fault and I laugh obnoxiously. I could go on and on about myself but I dont feel like it. To know me is to love me. There is no happy medium. ..

Posted on December 9, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment